Skip to main content

Databases: Find Answers and Facts

The Brentwood Public Library subscribes to a number of databases containing a variety of information resources for our patrons to access. Listed below are the databases, along with brief descriptions. You will need to enter your library barcode number outside the library to access most databases.

Ancestry Library
Ancestry Library assists your family history research.  Please note that this database is only available on the library premises, so stop by to access it through your own laptop or our public computers.

Biblioboard
Biblioboard is a tool to browse and download self-published books from SELF-e. You can read right in your browser or set up an account to download the ebook. There is also an app available for easy mobile reading.

Consumer Reports
Get all the information and the most current recommendations before making a decision or purchase with Consumer Reports.  You will need to enter your library barcode number outside the library to access this database.

EBSCOhost
EBSCOhost offers a variety of full text and popular databases ranging from general reference to subject specific topics.

ERIC - the Education Resources Information Center
ERIC is an online digital library of education research and information. ERIC provides ready access to education literature to support the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research.

 HeritageQuest
A variety of resources for your genealogical research. You will need to enter your library barcode number outside the library to access this database.

Interlibrary Loan World Catalog
Search here for items not available in the Municipal Library Consortium. This catalog will connect to library databases around the world that have agreed to share their items through Inter-Library Loan with the Brentwood Public Library. 

If you live in Brentwood and would like to request an item from home, use this link to reach World Cat.

If you would like to learn how to request from home, please stop by and we can show you.

Learning Express Library
The LearningExpress Library Database contains access to many online practice tests such as the ACT, SAT, GED, law enforcement, real estate licensure, and many more.

Missouri Digital Heritage
Access millions of records from the state library, state archives, and other institutions.

NoveList Plus
Are you wondering what to read next? NoveList Plus is here to help you!  You can browse by genre or just look up a book you loved recently and get read-alike recommendations.

OneClickDigital Classics
Download audio version of classic books.

OverDrive
OverDrive offers a selection of downloadable audiobooks and eBooks.

ReferenceUSA
Provides business and consumer research.

TumbleBooks
E-books for kids!

USA.gov
USA.gov is an easy-to-search, free-access website designed to give you a centralized place to find information from U.S. local, state, and federal government agency websites.

Zinio
Download and read magazines on your computer or mobile device.  Click here to download a guide for how to get started using Zinio.